WRESTLING: BGAH Defeats Oxford-Greene
Published: January 12th, 2023
By: Morgan Golliver

HARPURSVILLE – The Bainbridge-Guilford/Afton/Harpursville wrestling team hosted Oxford-Greene in Harpursville on Wednesday evening, where the Bears came away with a 47-27 victory. The Bears continue to see great performances from their top three leaders this season; Darren Florance, Joey Florance, and Jose Bivar.

Darren Florance remains undefeated throughout his junior season with a 16-0 record after defeating Oxford-Greene’s Dallyn Camp in the 110 pound weight class in a technical fall in 2:05 and leading 21-6.

Joey Florance has seen more matches than Darren this season and stands with a 16-3 record in his final season. He defeated Richard Hunter in a quick 59 second pin in the 118 pound weight class.

Jose Bivar pinned Chris Callahan in the 126 weight class in 1:38 to pick up his 16th win of the season to lead the overall team at 16-9.

Other notable performances from the Bears include Ryan Blackman’s pin against Corey Swift in a long 3:29, Chris Moyer in the 160 weight class pinned Tallon Davis in 3:20 while Zack Decamp (:52) and Elliott Briggs (:37) had quick pins for their respective class.

Oxford-Greene picked up wins from their top wrestlers as well. Hunter Page (16-2) pinned Landon James in the 189 pound weight class at 2:29 as Isiah Sexton had a tough match against Devon Rowe but came out on top with a pin at 3:06. Kade Mustin won on an 8-1 decision against BGAH’s Davis Barnard while Aiden Marcin fought hard against Blake Prisco to win at the 3:54 mark. David Dunkel had a quick 1:10 pin on Bryan Hoyt in the 145 weight class.

Story Continues Below Adverts


BGAH: will be competing in the Southern Tier Memorial Tournament at Waverly on Friday.

OX-GR: will be hosting Unatego-Unadilla Valley on Tuesday at 6 p.m. in Greene.

Full Results:

BGAH 47 Oxford / Greene 27

102- Kade Mustin G/O dec. Barnard Davis BGAH 8-1

110- Darren Florance BGAH TF Dallyn Camp G/O 21-6 2:05

118- Joey Florance BGAH won by fall :59 Richard Hunter G/O 

125- Jose Bivar BGAH won by fall 1:38 Chris Callahan G/O

132- Aiden Marcin G/O won by fall Blake Prisco BGAH 3:54

138- Ryan Blackman BGAH won by fall Corey Swift G/O 3:29

145- David Dunkel G/O won by fall Bryan Hoyt BGAH 1:10

152- Hayden Stickle BGAH won by forfeit

Story Continues Below Adverts

160- Chris Moyer BGAH won by fall Talon Davis G/O 3:20

172- Isiah Sexton G/O won by fall Devin Rowe BGAH 3:06

189- Hunter Page G/O won by fall Landon James BGAH 2:29

215- Zach Decamp BGAH won by fall Jared Milk G/O :52

285- Elliott Briggs BGAH won by fall Aiden Lamphere G/O :37