FEMA: Disaster declared

ALBANY – Governor Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will make federal disaster aid available to homeowners, renters and small businesses within five counties affected by the tremendous flooding caused by tropical storm Lee last week.

The federal aid comes none to soon following a year plagued by rain and flooding in Chenango County.

“We’ve had the storm of the century three times this year,” said Public Works Director Randy Gibbon.

FEMA’s disaster declaration will cover flood damage to residents in Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Otsego and Tioga counties, Cuomo’s office reported.

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 31% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook