STAC Semi-final: Strong Second-half Leads M-E Past Norwich
Published: February 16th, 2022
By: Robert Jeffrey

NORWICH – Maine-Endwell Spartans junior Kaetlyn L’Amoreaux scored 19 of her game high 28 points in the second half to lead the Spartans to a 63-41 Southern Tier Athletic Conference girls’ basketball semi-final victory over the host Norwich Purple Tornado.

Coming out of the halftime break, the Spartans held a 28-26 lead over the Purple Tornado. Over the final 16 minutes of play, M-E outscored Norwich 35-15.

In addition to L’Amoreaux’s gargantuan scoring effort, Spartan teammates Sydney Yonkoski and Madalyn Ocker combined for 13 points over the final two stanzas to secure the victory.

As for the Purple Tornado, Norwich’s offense held strong through the opening 16 minutes of play keeping pace with the Spartans to keep the game within single digits, but could never recover after M-E’s dynamic scoring in the third quarter.

Norwich saw balanced first-half scoring from seniors Emily Evans, Maddy Morris, MacKenzie Hess, and Margart Dougher as Evans scored seven points, Morris and Hess scoring six points and Dougher adding in five points.

Kaetlyn L’Amoreaux scored a game high 28 points for the Spartans and teammate Sydney Yonkoski pitched in 12 points for Maine-Endwell in the victory.

Story Continues Below Adverts

Emily Evans led Norwich in scoring with 10 points, Margaret Dougher pitched in nine points with MacKenzie Hess and Maddy Morris each scoring eight points apiece.

Norwich now awaits for their seeding placement in the Section IV class B girls basketball tournament.

Follow The Evening Sun in the future for more information on the Section IV Class B basketball tournament.

Score by Quarters

M-E: 17 11 17 18- 63

Norwich: 16 10 6 9 – 41

Norwich: Maddy Morris 8, Emily Evans 10, Margaret Dougher 9, Cameron VanHouten 6, MacKenzie Hess 8. 14 FG, 9-18 FT – 41

M-E: L’Amoreaux 28, V. Anastos 9, Yonkoski 12, Fellows 2, Hurna 4, P. Anastos 2, Ocker 6. 21 FG 15-22 FT- 63

3-point goals: Norwich 4 (Dougher 2, Morris, Evans); M-E 6 (L’Amoreaux 3, Ocker 2, Yonkoski)