Fifth induction class announced for The General Clinton Canoe Regatta Hall of Fame

BAINBRIDGE – Six individuals will be inducted into the General Clinton Canoe Regatta Hall of Fame during the 54th annual Regatta, to be held May 27-30 in Bainbridge.

The fifth class of inductees will be honored at General Clinton Park with an informal food and beverage offering, to be followed by the Hall of Fame ceremony. Regatta organizers plan the induction festivities for 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 28.

This year the inductees are comprised of four individuals known for their longevity success and promotion of canoe paddling, especially the 70-mile endurance race. Two others are being recognized for their many years of volunteer efforts toward the growth and success of the events and facilities in support of Regatta Weekend.

The class of 2016 includes:

• Armond Bassett (deceased) This Rochester area native lived for the sport, becoming a vital member of the New York Marathon Canoe Racing Association (NYMCRA). His early efforts helping the Clinton Regatta gain notoriety were rewarded by naming the C-1-70 Amateur race in his honor.

• Bob Allen (Westfield, Massachusetts): Has the 4th highest number of Regatta 70-mile finishes with 37. Is a board member of the New England Canoe & Kayak Racing Association (NECKRA) and heads its Competition committee. Tremendous influence on keeping the influx of New England paddlers to the Regatta going strong.

• Jim Jordan (Otego, NY): Stands 2nd all-time with 39 finishes (in 41 starts) since he began with Jeff Shultis in 1975. 3-time champion in various amateur divisions and was the first to cross the finish line (with Don LaFever) in 2000. Helps paddlers of all ages to appreciate the sport – especially through his help with the annual Generation Gap races.

• Al Rudquist (Grand Rapids, Minnesota): A 24-time finisher of the C-2-70 pro division, Al won the 1984 race with partner Mike Fries, one of only a handful of times accomplished during the “Serge Corbin Era”. Holds the distinction of finishing 2nd to Corbin more than anyone else (9 times), mostly with partner Tim Triebold.

•Dale Fox (Bainbridge, NY ): Long-time Regatta committee member and past chairman (1988). Has provided a unique combination of canoe racing – 20 finishes – and volunteering. He has served as Race Director for many years to his present role as Entry Chair.

• Dean Oliver (Bainbridge, NY): Joined Regatta committee in 1968 and helped greatly in construction of buildings as General Clinton Park took shape. Took his turn as chairman in 1977. Biggest contribution came as a member of the concessions committee, encouraging local service groups to raise money by selling food or other concessions.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook