Cyclones' 'A' Team Wins League Playoff Crown

By: Patrick Newell

SAUQUOIT – The Norwich Cyclones’ “A” team downed Holland Patent, 28-20, to win the Tri-Valley League playoff championship here Saturday. The Cyclones will now move on to compete in the “Empire State Classic” Pop Warner tournament.

This past Saturday, Tristan Rifanburg opened the scoring for the Cyclones on a two-yard run in the first, with John Marvin kicking the point-after touchdown. Matt Craig had a pair of one-yard TDs in the second with Marvin and Spencer Stone providing conversion runs to build a 22-0 halftime lead.

Marvin pounded in a two- yard TD in the fourth to finish Norwich’s scoring.

Marvin, Craig, Rifanburg, and Stone led the defense with Cameron Edwards having two sacks. Adding to the defensive effort were Nick Murphy, Alec Weaver, John Vinal, and Killian Benedict.

The Cyclones’ “C” team lost a heartbreaker to Whitesboro in overtime. The Cyclones were undefeated in the regular season and won the Tri-Valley League regular season title.



pennysaver logo
Shop4Autos logo
greatgetaways logo
Official Evening Sun Facebook Official Evening Sun Twitter