CCC 58th Annual Member Guest Golf Tournament Set To Begin

By: Cameron Turner

CCC 58th annual Member Guest Golf Tournament set to begin

Frank Speziale Photo

NORWICH – The annual Canasawacta Country Club Member Guest Golf Tournament is underway this morning, Thursday, August 4.

The 58th edition of this historically competitive three days of golf will see the first teams tee off at 8 a.m. sharp.

With the number of golfers up in 2016, from years past, many pairs will be doubled up on holes to begin the day.

“90 teams, one of the biggest in the fields in the last 8 years. There will be 180 golfers on 18 holes of golf each day, that is a lot of golf and a lot of guys,” said Tournament Director and Owner of the CCC Tim Carson.

Carson explained that the increase in the sheer number of participants in 2016 is due in part to many younger golfers signing up to for the Member Guest this year, compared to others in the past.

“A lot of newer younger teams, under the age of 35,” said Carson. “It is a very social event, a lot of social things going on each day, there will be lunch and dinner every day. There is a cocktail party every night.”

Along with the many other social activities for spectators and golfers alike to participate in throughout the weekend, the CCC will also be featuring a live band on Friday night – The Bruce Beadle Band – which is sponsored by Professional Telecommunications and David Burrell; as well as DJ on Saturday night.

The format for this year’s edition of the Member-Guest tournament will be much the same as years past as spectators and fans will be treated to a 54 hole, Four-Ball Stroke Play competition. Flights will be determined after the first two days of golf, 36 holes of play have been completed, with the lowest eight scores as well as ties advancing into the Masters Flight.

The remaining golfers who do not make the top Masters Flight will be divided into eight other flights as well, and are scheduled to also play on Saturday, August 6.

The awards dinner for the champions of each flight is scheduled for Saturday, August 6, at 7:30 p.m., with the awards presentation to follow taking place from 9 p.m. until midnight.

“The awards dinner itself, could have as many as 280 people attending, it is really impressive,” said Carson.

2015’s Masters champions Brian Loomis and Brian Boyer, are both back at the tournament this year. However, after winning last year by just one stroke, the duo will be looking for separate titles this year as they try to repeat with new partners. Brian Boyer notched his first championship in 2015 while Loomis secured his fifth championship title with last year’s nail-biting win.

“I don’t know if there is a real front runner this year. We have a lot of repeat guys, but I don’t know if there is a real solid team that stands out,” said Carson. “It will make for a real good tournament.”

Notable teams who will be taking to the greens this weekend are the duos of: Mike Flanagan and Ed Larkin, Tom Ryan and Greg Dixx, Justin Bennett and Scotty Seiler, Bob Branham and his son Mike Branham, Matt Burrell and Craig Dawson, Bryan Smith and Ken Benjamin, and Tim Carson and Scott Seiler.

Regardless of who manages a championship this coming weekend at The Canasawacta Country Club, the weekend looks to have great weather, while the CCC is always looking to continue the long standing tradition that is their Member Guest Tournament, which has roots all the way back to 1959.

Below is the tournament champions of the Masters Flight dating back to the inaugural year of 1959.

Parade of Champions:

1959: Joe Rotundo and Henry Shearer

1960: Ernie Colamaio and Jack Lucey

1961: Ang Schibeci and Bill Carson

1962: Joe Annesi and Bill Seeley

1963: Charles Gregory and Bill Couter

1964: Andy Zaia and Mel Fry

1965: Dusty Annesi and Frank Santolucito

1966: John Anagnost and Bob Jones

1967: Dave Scully and Rob Rice

1968: Bob Palmer and Bince McGlade

1969: Bill Carson and Carroll Coyne

1970: Andy Zaia and Bill Zahner

1971: George Mirabito and Neil Brandow

1972: Ernie Calamaio and John Gallagher

1973: Dick Fern and Paul Gagliano

1974: Frank Santolucito and Bill Macarelli

1975: Tonny Annesi and Andy Annesi

1976: Frank Mirabito and John Edwards

1977: Bob Branham and Lou Stoddart

1978: Rory Carrigan and Mike Bulhai

1979: Bob Thorpe and Chan Gray

1980: Herb Flood and Paul Branham

1981: Cliff Tamsett Jr. and Bob Branham

1982: David Branham and Tom Wheaton

1983: Doug Cottle and Roger Schoenbeck

1984: Frank Santolucito and Bill Macarelli

1985: Cliff Tamsett Jr. and Bob Branham

1986: David Branham and Tom Wheaton

1987: Mark Demellier and George Gelsomin

1988: David Branham and Tom Wheaton

1989: Bob Branham and David Bowman

1990: David Branham and Tom Wheaton

1991: Bob Hall and Peter Severud

1992: Bob Branham and David Bowman

1993: Chris Denning and John Denning Jr.

1994: Bob Branham and David Bowman

1995: Bob Branham and David Bowman

1996: Steve Huggins and Nick Masterpole

1997: Tim Mirabito and David Aust

1998: Brian Loomis and Christian Brown

1999: Bob Branham and David Bowman

2000: Brian Loomis and Christian Brown

2001: Christian Brown and Brian Loomis

2002: Christian Brown and Brian Loomis

2003: Doug Wilson and Joe Gutosky

2004: Bob Branham and Mike Branham

2005: Tim Mirabito and Ken Stewart

2006: Tom Ryan and Matt Ryan

2007: Tim Mirabito and Ken Stewart

2008: Bob Branham and Mike Branham

2009: Lee Skillin and Jim Gorski

2010: Bryan Smith and Todd Seiler

2011: Tim Carson and Scott Seiler

2012: Tim Carson and Scott Seiler

2013: Corey Johnson and Eric Walling

2014: Matt Burrell and Craig Dawson

2015: Brian Loomis and Bryan Boyer

The following rounds have been set thus far. Further results along with champions will be reported by The Evening Sun when the information becomes available.



pennysaver logo
Shop4Autos logo
greatgetaways logo
Official Evening Sun Facebook Official Evening Sun Twitter