Sidney Warriors win 35th annual S-E Field Hockey tournament

SHERBURNE – Four teams, with four different matchups, it was the Sidney Warriors who traveled to Sherburne – emerging the tournament champions.

Smashing and slashing their way to a 2-0 weekend, the lady Warriors downed each of the other squads they faced – defeating host Sherburne-Earlville on Friday before winning the championship at 3-0 over Vernon-Verona-Sherrill.

The fourth team, Morrisville-Eaton, finished in fourth place – dropping games to VVS and the S-E ladies.

On Friday, the opening round of the tournament saw eventual champions Sidney take down the lady Marauders in a landslide at 7-0.

In the first-round loss, S-E ‘s Jade Diamond managed 14 saves while playing goalkeeper – while Sidney’s Mallory Stillman scored three goals and teammate Tiana Savino notched two goals.

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 27% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook