Reservations still available for Norwich Sports Hall of Fame banquet

NORWICH – The third induction of the Norwich High School Sports Hall of Fame is scheduled for Saturday, May 11, at the Canasawacta Country Club. Slated to enter the prestigious Hall this year are athletes Lew Newton ’28, Fred Swertfager ’56, Bobby Lazor ’94, Coach George Echentile, former Sun sports editor Bob Van Tine, and the undefeated 1952 football team.

Several members of the ’52 football team, which broke the scoring record set by the undefeated ’24 team, are expected to attend. They include Captain Ed Ackley, Nick Elia, Howard Ryan, Francis Brennan, Don Chirlin, Dick Bowers, Bob Endries, Jim Golden, Buster Gridley, Ernie Schraft, John Stewart, J R Hamilton, Gary Carpenter, John Aloi, Tony Vellake, Bob Fierro, Dick Fern, Butch Magistro, Frank Zaia, and mascot Phil Giltner. Others are expected to register in the next few days.

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 50% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook