Oxford's 1982 football team reunites

Oxfordís 1982 unbeaten football team, one that finished 10-0 and seventh in the final New York State small school poll, was recognized this past Friday night at Oxford on the 30th anniversary of that championship season. Players on that team include David Morris, Jason Web, David Tewksbury, Jay Nelson, Nelson Lucier, Mike Fleming, Scott Begeal, Tom McMullen, Jamie Robb, John Wright, Scott Tansey, Dennis McBride, Mark LoGerfo, John Marshman, Matt Simpson, Scott Fitch, Dewight Wood, Tim Frank, John Smith, Tim Tompkins, Lee Gates, Mark Hinman, Shawn Ryan, Hugh Witchella, John Baumgartner, Craig Frank, Mark Howe, John Borchardt, Jon Benjamin, and Rocky Honkomp. The team was coached by Tony Abbott and assisted by John Curtis and Don Cooper. Most of the team was in attendance for a group photo. Team members missing from the photo were Jason Webb, John Borchardt, Dennis McBride, Tim Tompkins, Lee Gates, John Smith, Mike Fleming, Dewight Wood, Scott Fitch, and John Wright. (Photo by Frank Speziale)

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook