Win number four for car number four at Skyline Raceway

BLODGETT MILLS – In Skyline Raceway’s 25th anniversary season, the resurgent Jim “Rocky” Rothwell of Plymouth continued his banner season racing the number four car in the sportsman division.

Rothwell expanded his points lead with his fourth feature win of the season last weekend. Arriving at the track with Chevrolet ower under his hood instead of his trust Ford, the results did not change for the veteran driver.

Lee DeWitt and Nick Nye brought the 17-car sportsman field down to the green flag with DeWitt grabbing the top spot at the drop of the green flag. DeWitt would lead the first two circuits before surrendering the top spot to Jim La Rock. Behind LaRock, eventual winner Rothwell was making tracks to the front of the field , utilizing the outside groove of the track to race his way into contention. It took Rothwell only six laps to run down LaRock. The two veteran drivers spent several laps racing side by side before Rothwell was able to take the lead away from LaRock on the ninth circuit.

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 56% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook