Franklin named NCAA Division II Wrestler of the Year by NWCA

EDMOND, Okla. – Trevor Franklin became Unadilla Valley’s first New York State championship wrestler. Several years removed from that title, Franklin is now a two-time NCAA Division II champion at Upper Iowa, and was chosen this past week as the NCAA Division II Wrestler of the Year.

In a release on the Upper Iowa website last Thursday, Franklin was selected as the top D-II wrestler for the 2011-2012 year by the National Wrestling Coaches’ Association. Franklin is the fifth recipient of the award, and was a runaway winner outdistancing other top wrestlers T.J. Hepburn of Nebraska-Kearney and North Carolina-Pembroke’s Mike Williams in voting by eight regional representatives of the NWCA

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 29% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook