Decentralization grants awarded to Chenango, Broome, Otsego groups

NORWICH – The Chenango County Council of the Arts is pleased to announce the allocation of $80,481 in cultural funding to 56 non-profit organizations through the 2012 Broome, Chenango & Otsego Decentralization (DEC) Grant Program. An additional $10,000 for the Broome County DEC Program was provided by The Stewart W. and Willma C. Hoyt Foundation, bringing total funding to $90,481.

The Broome, Chenango & Otsego DEC Program serves as a catalyst for local cultural development exposing children, adults and seniors to events that enrich and enhance their lives. Funding provided through these programs helps to strengthen our communities by reaching the most rural of our townships and villages, providing increased access to a greater quality of life. The DEC Program operates annually and panel nominations are accepted on a rolling basis. For additional information, call the Arts Council office at 336-2787/ARTS or visit our website at

Congratulations to the following 2012 grant recipients:

Broome County: The ART Mission Theater, Binghamton Community Dance*, Binghamton Community Orchestra, Binghamton Downtown Singers*, Binghamton Youth Symphony, Binghamton Theater Organ Society*, Endicott Performing Arts Center, Inc.*, Endwell Community Chorus*, George F. Johnson Memorial Library*, Greater Whitney Point Community Planning Committee Corporation*, Johnson City Partners*, The Madrigal Choir of Binghamton*, Phelps Mansion Museum, Windsor Partners, Inc., Windsor Whip Works Art Center*, Your Home Public Library*

*Denotes additional funding provided by the Hoyt Foundation.

Chenango County: Afton Historical Society, Chenango County Blues Association, Chenango County Historical Society, The Christian Neighborhood Center of Norwich, Inc./The Place, City of Norwich, Colorscape Chenango Arts Festival, Inc., Coventry Town Museum Association, McDonough Improvement Committee, Mid-York Concert Band, Moore Memorial Library, New Berlin Art Forum, Norwich Theater Company Inc., Otselic Valley Fishing & Heritage Association, Oxford Memorial Library, Sherburne Public Library, Sherburne United Methodist Church, 6 On The Square, Smyrna Citizen’s Band, Smyrna Public Library, Town of Columbus, Village of Afton, Village of New Berlin, Volunteer Guild of the NYS Veteran’s Home.

Otsego County: Catskill Choral Society, Catskill Valley Wind Ensemble, Cherry Valley Artworks, Inc.,

City of the Hills Chapter, Sweet Adelines Int., First Night Oneonta, First Presbyterian Church of Gilbertsville, LEAF, Inc., Little Delaware Youth Ensemble, Oneonta Community Concert Band Association, Oneonta World of Learning, Orpheus Theater, Inc., Otsego 2000, Inc., Otsego County Dance Society, Pathfinder Village, Smithy Pioneer Gallery, Unadilla Historical Association, Village of Laurens.

The Broome, Chenango & Otsego County Decentralization Program is administered by the Chenango County Council of the Arts, and is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. Additional support for Broome County provided by the Hoyt Foundation.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook