Common Council makes city committee appointments

NORWICH – Annual appointments by Mayor Joseph Maiurano and the Common Council to various commissions, boards and other committees were unanimously approved last night.

Second Ward Alderman Terry Bresina and Sixth Ward Alderman Robert Jeffrey were nominated and subsequently adopted as president of the council and acting mayor, respectively, each for a term of one year. First and Third Ward Aldermen Robert Carey and John Deierlein will once again join Bresina on the council’s Finance/Personnel Committee, while Jeffrey will be joined by Fourth and Fifth Ward Aldermen Walter Schermerhorn and Paul Laughlin as the Public Works/Safety Committee for the Common Council.

Local residents Thomas Knapp and Gary Brookins were both re-appointed to three-year terms on the city’s Traffic Commission – which, among other duties, determines changes in regards to traffic necessary for safety reasons – along with Scott Sutton, appointed for the remainder of a three-year term which will expire at the end of 2011.

There's more to this story! You're only seeing 33% of the story. Subscribe now to get immediate access to the rest of the story as well as our whole online offering.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook