New treasurer; supervisor in Columbus; McDonough proposition defeated

NORWICH – The second time was the charm for Richard L. Hanna, the Republican businessman from Utica, who upset two-term incumbent Michael A. Arcuri in winning New York’s 24th Congressional District on Election Day.

“It’s been a two and a half year battle. It was hard enough to do it once, let alone twice,” said Hanna this morning about losing in a close race against Arcuri before. “But I had confidence that I was the right person for the job at the right time.”

Hanna earned 55.3 percent of the vote in Chenango County to Arcuri’s 44.5 percent. There were 12,954 votes cast.

Hanna, who heads to Washington soon to complete an orientation course, said he ran on jobs, the economy and growth for New York.

“I built my life in upstate New York. I can’t stand the idea that, because of the economy and lack of opportunity, that young people can’t thrive here,” he said.

Though the races were close, all of the other incumbents representing Chenango County were kept in office. Charles E. Schumer narrowly beat Jay Townsend in the district with 52.2 percent of the votes versus Townsend’s 45.3 percent. Kirsten E. Gillibrand had 52.1 percent of the votes here versus Joseph J. DioGuardi, with 44.8 percent.

Thomas W. Libous earned 7,330 votes compared to newcomer John P. Orzel, with 2,712. Libous retained his seat in the statewide election.

James L. Seward, Clifford W. Crouch, Gary D. Finch, Peter D. Lopez, all incumbents, ran without opposition and were returned to Albany to represent the county.

Gubernatorial candidate Andrew M. Cuomo narrowly won in Chenango County with 51.5 percent over Carl P. Paladino’s 43.8 percent.

The Chenango County Board of Elections reported a significantly large turnout at the polls on Election Day with some onsite inspectors having to turn voter list sheets over to use the flip side.

In Oxford alone, there were more than 1,000 ballots, said Elections Administrator Elizabeth Vanderweyde. Official tallies were not available by press time.

With 9,965 voters turning out yesterday, the unopposed William C. Craine of Sherburne was elected Chenango County Treasurer.

The former businessman and current town supervisor said he hoped to follow in outgoing Treasurer William B. Evan’s footsteps.

“Bill’s done some really good work. Keeping the average tax increase at about 1 percent would be pretty admirable in any state or in any county in the country. A lot of things I’m sure will develop as I get there, and I hope I can use some of my talents to build on Bill’s great team.”

Columbus will have a supervisor next year after being without since February. It was Democrat Pamela J. Weidman who earned favor with 162 votes over candidate Sara L. Paddock, who ran on the Independence Party. A total of 215 voters went to the polls.

In Guilford, appointed incumbent Michael G. Miles was returned to the town council with 408 votes versus Gary W. Schultes’ 292.

Voters defeated a proposition in McDonough, 181 to 81, that would have increased terms for supervisor, superintendent and clerk from two years to four.

The following unopposed candidates were elected to office in Chenango County towns followed by the number of votes cast: Afton Town Justice Ronald A. Sherman, 536 voters; Bainbridge Town Justice Randall W. Lambrecht, 738 voters; Bainbridge Town Council James A. Maddalone, 747 voters; Coventry Justice Russell C. Lerwick, 319 voters; German Town Council Stella Penny Lum, 93 voters. In Lincklaen, Justin W. Rice is town justice, with 94 voters turning out; Nika M. Cole for Otselic Clerk, 191 voter turnout; Smyrna Robert D. Graham for Superintendent of Highways with 302 votes.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook