Arts Council announces “Artistic Discovery” winners

NORWICH – The Chenango County Council of the Arts, Norwich, has announced the winners of the 2010 Congressional Art Show “Artistic Discovery.” This show is sponsored annually by Congressman Michael Arcuri as part of a nation-wide high school art program, with additional support from Mr. & Mrs. Peter Chaplin and The George and Elisabeth Mead Foundation. Each of the local shows is juried and six of the winners from each county are chosen to go on to a competition in their respective Congressional Districts. The District winners have their art displayed in The Capitol for a year.

Five high schools in Chenango County submitted over 100 pieces of art this year. The jurors for this year’s show were local artist Jane Evelynne Higgins, whose wonderful collage pieces can be seen in her carriage barn, The Hilton Bloom Art Studio, and woodworker John Knapp, owner of Knapp Knoll Woodworks. Although John does create one-of-a-kind custom furniture pieces, he specializes in heirloom quality toys.

The winners are:


1. Kirsten Page “Serenity” Norwich

2. Lexi Rounds “Red Rocks Cave” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Jessica Wenner “Glowing Orbs” Afton

HM Heaven Brewer “Fairy Tale” Oxford

HM Jeff Wilkinson “Acrylic” Norwich


1. Sarah Powell “Abstract #1” Norwich

2. Randi Searles “Scream” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Emilee Smith “Skulls and Lanterns” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Jeramie Yacano “Spore” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Jeff Wilkinson “Portrait of Eli” Norwich


1. Veronica Taylor “Sis” Sherburne-Earlville

2. Taylor Morris “Flower” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Kirsten Page “Allis Volat Propriis” Norwich


1. Olivia Miller “Untitled” Sherburne-Earlville

2. Ashley Eaton “Forest of Snow” Sherburne-Earlville

HM Sofeia Eddy “Winter Evergreen” Sherburne-Earlville

Mixed Media:

1. Amanda Ruhland “Mother and Child” Unadilla Valley

2. Mariah Mohr “A Colorful Nightmare” Afton

HM Austin Crandall “Celtic Cross” Oxford

Computer Generated Art:

1. Mallory Norton “Untitled Self-Portrait” Norwich

2. Chris Tubbs “Lego Action” Norwich

HM Damien Manwarren “Landscape” Norwich


1. Heaven Brewer “It’s All Net” Oxford

2. Stephanie Staley “Triumphant Boy” Sherburne-Earlville

HM  Jeramie Yacano “Memories Burne” Sherburne-Earlville


1. Connor “C.J.” LoPresti “Cup Sphere” Norwich

2. Meaghan Wakefield “Rock” Oxford

HM  Alanna Dunn “House” Norwich

The six winners chosen to go on to the Congressional District competition in Utica are Kirsten Page, Sarah Powell, Veronica Taylor, Olivia Miller, Amanda Ruhland, and Mallory Norton.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook