Chenango voters pass all school budgets


Aftonís proposed budget for the 2009-10 academic year of $14,429,118, was approved by 51 votes, with 158 residents voting for and 107 against.

A proposition to purchase one new 41-passenger wheelchair-accessible bus for an amount not to exceed $105,000 was also approved by voters, with 166 voting for and 98 against.

Vanessa Warren of Afton received 202 votes to retain her position on the districtís board of education. This will be Warrenís third 5-year term on the school board.


Bainbridge-Guilfordís proposed $16,768,639 budget was approved with 307 of the 421 residents who voted casting their ballot for the spending plan. 114 voted against the budget proposal.

Voters also approved 314 for and 105 against the proposition to purchase two new school vehicles at a cost not to exceed $139,000.

Incumbents Charles Blincoe and Jason Fleming each received 326 votes to retain their seats on the districtís board of education. The third school board vacancy will be filled by Brenda Parsons, who received 364 votes.

Gilbertsville-Mt. Upton

Voters in the Gilbertsville-Mt. Upton Central School District passed the proposed $8,249,030 budget for the 2009 /2010 school year by a vote of 151 to 26.

G-MU Board of Education candidate Katherine Schmidt received 113 votes and Larry Smith received 111, securing the two vacant positions left by exiting board members Frederic Johnson and Parris Roseboom. The third candidate, Richard Smith, received 90 votes.


Greene residents voted 234 for and 93 against the districtís proposed $22,083,389 budget.

Richard Boeltz received 259 votes to retain his position on the districtís board of education. Write-in candidate Chris Austin, who has served previously on the school board, secured the second vacant seat on the board with 39.


A total of 721 Norwich district residents cast their vote on the districtís $37,873,070 proposed budget, which was approved with 504 voting for the spending plan and 234 against.

For the three vacancies on the board of education, Joe Stagliano received 558 votes, Perry Owen 501 and Sally Chirlin 442 to retain their positions on the board. Norwich resident Mark Hollifield received 298 votes and write-in candidate Joe Telesky received 55. There was also one vote cast for Tim Brown, the board vice president who resigned his position on May 5.

Residents also voted to approve the Guernsey Memorial Libraryís 2009-10 proposed budget, which totals $1,017,834. Angela Levesque, who was appointed to the library board in August of 2008, ran unopposed for her first elected term. She received 465 votes to secure her position.

Otselic Valley

The Otselic Valley District passed the proposed budget of $9,056,933 by a margin of 95 votes; 168 to 73.

A proposal to purchase two new busses, one 30-passenger bus and one 64-passenger bus in an amount not to exceed $145,177.36 also passed. The proposal received 162 votes for the purchase and 71 against. In addition, school board candidate Doug Evans was re-elected to a five-year term with 201 votes.


Oxford residents approved the districtís 2009-10 proposed budget, which totals $17,228,700, with 248 voting for and 152 against the proposal.

Residents also approved two propositions. The first, a proposition to increase appropriations to the Oxford Memorial Library by $2,425 per year to a total $126,401, was passed 283 to 116. The second proposition, authorizing the purchase of two buses for an amount not to exceed $126,401, was passed 234 to 165.

Peter Heggie Jr. received 327 votes in his bid for election to the districtís board of education. Write-in candidate Dawn Golden received 82 votes, to secure the second vacant school board seat. Golden just narrowly edged out write-in candidate Rebecca Doing, who received 77 votes. According to District Clerk Michele Rice, more than 40 other names were written in for the board of education seat.

Matt Voce was re-elected to the Library Board of Trustees with 315 votes.


Sherburne-Earlville voters approved the proposed 2009/2010 budget on Tuesday night by a vote of 315 to 133. The budget, totaling $27,833,948, showed an increase of 3.9 percent over the 2008/2009 budget.

Current School Board President Doug Shattuck received 129 votes for the open seat on the Board of Education.

Unadilla Valley

The Unadilla Valley School District had its proposed $20,252,752 budget approved by voters for the 2009 /2010 school year with 237 in favor and 106 against.

Board of Ed incumbents Edmond S. Caputo and Brian Brennan won reelection to their seats with 257 and 254 votes, respectively, while Clifton J. Frink received 104.

Residents in the Unadilla Valley School District also approved two propositions on Tuesdayís ballot. The first proposal requested the purchase of two 66-passenger buses and one, new, 5 to 7 passenger bus in an amount not to exceed $220,000.

The second authorized the levy of an additional $4,000 annually for the New Berlin Library.

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook