59th annual CCC Member Guest tournament comes to a close; Carson and Seiler lock up Masters win for second year in a row

Frank Speziale Photo

NORWICH – This three day tournament, held each year at Norwich’s own Canasawacta Country Club, drew record numbers in participants while not disappointing in the competition whatsoever.

With more than 250 players and guests attending the awards dinner on Saturday, August 5, the CCC was packed to the brim with golfers and their family and friends.

The 188 total golfers who participated in the 2017 Member Guest tournament was in fact the biggest field of competition in the past decade – with eight different father and son teams and eight different teams of brothers.

If one thinks back to the heavy rain that the Norwich area endured in the early parts of the weekend – playing a round of golf might be unthinkable, let alone a three day tournament.

However, thanks to course superintendent Deneen Ziegler, and even with two heavy storms sweeping through on Friday causing two stoppages – the course conditions were kept ‘excellent’.

Taking the championship in 2017 – marking their second year in a row and fourth overall championship – was the pair of Tim Carson and Scott Seiler.

Carson and Seiler earned the right to be named the 59th annual CCC Member Guest champions, by taking the Masters flight by four strokes – edging out the brother duo of Nick and Paul Brunick at 200 to 204.

“A dry start to the event brought firm and fast greens but were softened up slightly for Saturday’s round following the rain,” said Tim Caron of the course conditions.

The flights were decided following the first two days of golf – Thursday, August 3 and Friday August 4 – with the third day seeing the 188 players, making 94 teams, sectioned off into flights based upon their scores after two days.

Past champions, Lee Skillin and Jim Gorski made a strong move on Friday, shooting a 66 to get within five of the leaders. This mark of 66 on Friday, was the second best of the field of eventual champions – with the Brunick brothers and Carson and Seiler, being the only two teams that finished in the top-three of a flight to best the mark.

Brothers Ryan and Corey Johnson made a solid debut this past weekend, earning a third-place finish in Masters flight, shooting a 208 overall, just four strokes off the Brunick brothers.

Brothers Nick and Paul Brunick fired the lowest round on Thursday to hold a three shot lead at 65. Carson and Seiler trailed at 68, with Pat Ryan and Jason Ryan – winners of Oakmont flight – trailing them at 70 after one round.

However, after leading the pack of 94 teams after day one, the Brunick brother faltered slightly on Friday – falling behind four strokes with their mark of 71. Notably, Carson and Seiler used this to their advantage, grabbing a 64 on the course for day two.

With the flights decided for Saturday’s showdown, it was the Brunick brothers who struck first – pushing the envelope for a possible championship. Making their first move of the day on hole four of the course, the Brunick duo snagged a birdie on what is commonly referred to as the most difficult hole on the course – this pulled the Masters flight to within three strokes.

Notably, Carson and Seiler matched the Brunick’s birdie – by way of hole five while also snagging a birdie on hole six – a hole where the Brunick brothers made bogey to fall behind by five strokes.

Coming down the back nine, the field of play knew it was now or never to reach for their shot at the respective flight championships.

The Brunick brothers saw their shot come on hole 13, a hole where they narrowly missed eagle. This move, coupled with Carson and Seiler struggling to make par on the hole, could have been a huge swing of momentum.

It could have been, however, with a missed opportunity and a Carson and Seiler birdie coming on the second most difficult hole at 15 – the fate of the Masters flight was decided.

The Carson and Seiler duo held their four stroke lead until the end – marking their second championship win in a row, and fourth overall.

Notably, despite taking the win by four strokes – each of the top-three teams in the Masters flight shot a 68 on the course for Saturday’s round.

The nine total different flights are determined by score totals of the first two rounds. The excitement, didn’t end at the Masters flight – as their was much excitement in the playoffs in the Merion and Winged Foot flights.

In the Merion flight, it was Lance Yerton and Steve Bennett who emerged victorious, taking a birdie on the first hole for the determining tiebreaker. Each of the top-three golfing pairs impressively shot a 234 overall in the Merion flight – while also all shooting a 77 on the final day of golfing.

In the Winged Foot flight it was Spencer McCredy and Matt Meade who earned the win after having to compete in four playoff holes before being named the victors. McCredy and Meade snagged the win over Terry Hagenbuch and Ed Holmquist in the playoff on the fourth hole – having both shot an overall of 236 after all three days. Joe Loftus and Brad Hagen came in fourth in the flight with a 237 overall.

Steve Bennett earned the distinction of being named the 2017 hole in one champion, taking home the $2,000 prize for acing the 14th hole on Friday.


Top-three finishers in each flight:



200 – Tim Carson and Scott Seiler – 68, 64 – 68

204 – Nick Brunick and Paul Brunick – 65, 71 68

208 – Ryan Johnson and Corey Johnson – 71, 69 68



212 – Pat Ryan and Jason Ryan – 70, 72 and 70

214 – Doug Wilson and Joe Gutosky – 71, 72 and 71

215 – Stu Hughes and Derek Hughes – 72, 72 71



221 – Tom Porack and Brian Harmon – 74, 76 and 71

222 – Chuck Kelly and Jacob Kelly – 76, 72 and 74

223 – Matt Burrell and John Zurbruegg – 72, 77 and 74 (won scorecard playoff)


Oakland Hills

224 – Dennis Cevasco and Bryant Parker – 78, 76 and 70

227 – Josh Bennett and Matt Morley – 74, 82 and 71

227 – David Carson and Timmy Clark – 77, 76 and 74



234 – Lance Yerton and Steve Bennett – 79, 78 and 77 (won playoff first hole)

234 – John Walton and Lynn Nearing – 82, 75 and 77 (won scorecard playoff)

234 – Jordan Alger and Rob Krowiak – 80, 77 and 77


Winged Foot

236 – Spence McCredy and Matt Meade – 83, 78 and 75 (won playoff fourth hole)

236 – Terry Hagenbuch and Ed Holmquist – 77, 83 and 76

237 – Joe Loftus and Brad Hagen – 81, 79 and 77


Pebble Beach

238 – Ken Coon and Steve Fuller – 80, 84 and 74

242 – Shane Thompson and Robert Martin – 84, 81 and 77

244 – Aiden Hannan and Doug Coggins – 80, 85 and 79



246 – Frank Somich and Mike Somich – 82, 85 and 79

250 – Tom Kozlowski and Eric Bailey – 84, 84 and 82

251 – Mark McLaughlin and BJ Jackson – 86, 83 and 82 (won scorecard playoff)


Olympic (Best of first two rounds plus third round)

171 – Jim McIntyre and Mike Morse – 0, 86 and 85

173 – Trip deCordova and Kevin Nugent – 0, 87 and 86

176 – Zach Stratton and Wes Mills – 88, 0 and 88

Today's Other Stories

© 2018 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
Create an Account Forgot Password Help
pennysaver logo greatgetaways logo
We're on Facebook