GUILFORD – Nestled in the rolling hills of Chenango County sits the North Guilford Church, a step back into a simpler and more rustic time.
There are only a handful of buildings, let alone churches, that still operate without gas, electricity or running water in New York. Two wood stoves and a dozen kerosene lanterns illuminate and heat the building, which fits approximately 100 people at any given time.
The non-denominational church was built in 1843 by Pastor Nehemiah Cobb and a group of 18 Guilford residents as the Congregational Church, dedicated in 1844. Since that time, the only observable change to the interior of the church has been to move the pulpit from the back to the front of the room.