Oxford Memorial Library opens Covered Bridge Resource Center

OXFORD – The Oxford Memorial Library will celebrate the grand opening of the Theodore Burr Covered Bridge Resource Center this weekend, as it also celebrates the bicentennial of the Burr House. The structure, which has housed the library since 1901, is the only structure built by the famous bridge builder which remains in existence today.



The Covered Bridge Resource Center is also unique. Much of its collection is a gift of Sherburne residents Bob and Trish Kane. The Kane’s are pictured above with Oxford Memorial Library Director Nancy Wilcox in front of a display case containing models of different covered bridge and truss designs.

The day’s events will begin at 10 a.m., with displays by covered bridge societies in Fort Hill Park, followed by a presentation by Donna Freeland, president of the New York State Covered Bridge Society.

The center’s grand opening and dedication ceremony will begin at 12:30 p.m. A reception and tours will follow.

Today's Other Stories



© 2014 Snyder Communications/The Evening Sun
29 Lackawanna Avenue, Norwich, NY 13815 - (607) 334-3276
We're on Facebook